Futrell named Kentucky fire chief of the year

Hopkinsville Fire Department Chief Steve Futrell has been named the 2022 Kentucky Fire Chief of the Year.

The designation is handed down by the Kentucky Association of Fire Chiefs, which is a professional organization comprised of volunteer and career fire chiefs through the state.

Futrell says it was especially humbling to be recognized by his peers across the state.

He says it speaks well for the department that fire chiefs across Kentucky are recognizing their accomplishments.

A majority of Futrell’s tenure has been during the unprecedented challenges of running fire and EMS during a pandemic.

Chief Futrell was nominated by Deputy Chief Bill Pyle, Deputy Chief Phillip Ferguson, Assistant Chief Chad Sivills and Inspector Payton Rogers.