CCHS teacher among 24 finalists for Ky. Teacher of the Year award

Christian County High School Agriculture teacher Victoria Mohon is one of 24 Kentucky educators named as recipients of the 2023 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards.

Mohon now qualifies to compete for the 2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in September.

The Kentucky Department of Education received 1,987 teacher nominations from all 171 school districts. Of that number, 312 teachers completed their applications.

Mohon grew up in Greenville and attended Murray State University where she graduated with both her bachelor’s and master’s degrees. She has taught at Christian County High for five years.

Pride Elementary teacher Kelly Gates in Hopkins County is also a finalist, as is Crittenden County Middle School teacher Mandy Perez.

Kentucky Commissioner of Education Jason E. Glass is quoted in a news release as saying, “Teachers give of themselves every day to help students gain the skills needed to pursue their dreams. On behalf of the Kentucky Department of Education, I congratulate these dedicated, award-winning teachers. I thank all teachers for inspiring, motivating and supporting Kentucky’s students.”