Local towns receiving more American Rescue Plan act funds

Governor Andy Beshear on Thursday announced $162 million for more than 360 non-entitlement cities in Kentucky from the American Rescue Plan Act—the second round of ARPA funding for eligible local governments.

Oak Grove is receiving $978,000, Pembroke about $119,000, Crofton is getting about $94,000 and Lafayette just over $21,000.

In Todd County, Elkton is getting $284,000, Guthrie will receive $188,000 and Trenton $50,000.

Cadiz, Trigg County’s only incorporated city, will receive about $357,000.

Madisonville is getting $2.4 million, Dawson Springs will receive $351,000 and White Plains about $120,000.

The money will help cities offset expenses related to COVID-19, including the costs of personal protective equipment, vaccination clinics, loss of revenue and payroll.

Non-entitlement cities are cities are cities with populations under 50,000 that did not file for a different distinction with the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Each allocation was based on population, per the U.S. Treasury.