Vanderbilt wins College World Series

Vanderbilt defeated Michigan 8-2 to win the College World Series championship in Omaha. Pat Demarco homered for the Commodores, with Stephen Scott driving in two Vandy runs. Mason Hickman allowed one run and struck out 10 in six innings to pick up the pitching win. Vanderbilt won its second national championship in six years.

Vanderbilt freshman pitcher Kumar Rocker was named the Most Outstanding Player of the College World Series. Rocker went 2-and-0 in the College World Series and struck out 17 batters over 12-and-a-third innings while allowing only two runs. He gained national recognition in the Super Regional round when he threw a no-hitter against Duke.